America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

Events and Announcements

2016 Cape League schedule kicks off June 10

     Commissioner Paul Galop has announced the 2016 Cape Cod Baseball League schedule.
     The CCBL season begins Friday, June 10, with a full slate of five games: Wareham at defending Cape League champion Yarmouth-Dennis, 5 p.m.; Orleans at Brewster, 5 p.m.; Hyannis at Bourne, 6 p.m.; Cotuit at Harwich, 6:30 p.m.; Falmouth at Chatham, 7 p.m. There are no scheduled doubleheaders this summer.
     “Our Executive Committee has unanimously approved the 2016 schedule,” Galop said. “We have not scheduled doubleheaders this year, which in essence creates an additional home game for fans and franchises.”
     The Friendly's All-Star game, which was held in Bourne in 2014 and Wareham in 2015, will take place at Chatham's Veterans Field on Saturday, July 23. Chatham, which last hosted in 2008, also will offer autograph sessions, hitting and fielding practice and the highly popular Home Run Hitting Contest.
     CCBL playoffs will begin Friday, Aug. 5 and all rounds will be a best-of-three format, enabling each team to host at least one playoff game. The championship round will match East and West Division playoff winners.
     “Our eight-team playoff format has proved to be enormously popular and that format will continue," Galop said. "When creating a schedule complicated as this, the No. 1 priority is fairness and balance. All teams have same weekend, home game/away game balance, and the first half and second half of our season are balanced, with home games equaling away for all 10 teams. We’re pleased with this schedule and hope the weather will be as wonderful as it was last summer.”
     Fields without lights, such as Brewster, Cotuit and Y-D, will begin their regular-season home games at 5, while lighted fields at Bourne, Falmouth (Sundays at 5:30) and Hyannis will begin at 6. Wareham and Harwich will begin their weekday/Saturday games at 6:30 and Sundays at 5:30, while Chatham and Orleans home contests will begin at 7.
     Once again, playoff games at nonlighted fields will begin at 4 p.m., allowing more working fans to attend playoff games. Games at lighted fields will begin at their regularly scheduled times.
     The Cape League has a 12-inning curfew for all regular-season games with player safety a paramount issue. There is no established curfew for playoff games.
     The Cape League, the nation's top collegiate summer league, set a record in 2015 with 292 of its alumni playing in the major leagues, with estimated 1,155 all time, including Baseball Hall of Famers Harold “Pie” Traynor (Falmouth, 1919), Carlton Fisk (Orleans, 1966), Frank Thomas (Orleans, 1988) and Craig Biggio (Y-D, 1986).