America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


Y-D Red Sox score their first Commissioner’s Cup

08/28/2009 11:25 AM

Article By:

28 August 2009



Y-D Red Sox Score their First Commissioner’s Cup


CAPE COD, Mass - The Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox not only captured their first Cape Cod Baseball League Commissioner’s Cup Award, they also captured the award for the first time for an Eastern Division Team. 

Commissioner Paul Galop, Senior Vice President Jim Higgins, 
Vice President Peter Ford, and President Judy Scarafile present the Commissioner's Cup to 
YD  Field Manager Scott Pickler and YD General Manager Jim Martin.
Photo by SportsPix 2009

     The award was initiated in 2004 and is awarded to the franchise that “demonstrates the highest level of integrity and professionalism on and off the field, ensuring and enhancing the championship caliber of the Cape Cod Baseball League.” 

     Previous winners have all been from the Western Division; however, Y-D broke that streak this year by capturing the cup. The Red Sox had a dominating year on the field, scoring the most points in the league with 57, while amassing 28 wins, 15 losses and 1 tie. Despite these impressive stats, the Sox were eliminated in the second round of the play-offs by the eventual Cape League Champions – The Bourne Braves.

     According to Commissioner, Paul Galop, "The Red Sox overwhelmingly and unanimously won the coveted Commissioner's Cup this year for several reasons. They completely lived up to the prerequisite of professionalism on and off the field.” 

     “From sponsoring a Major League Baseball seminar for all players at the beginning of the CCBL season, to running a very special clinic at Camp Lyndon in Sandwich. The Red Sox upgraded their baseball facility utilizing their own funds as well as grant funds from the Yawkey Foundation. As always, Y-D volunteers came out in force to help make the team a winning franchise both on and off the field.” 

Y-D President Bob Mayo and Y-D GM Jim Martin accept the Commissioner's Cup from Paul Galop 
Photo K. Wolfe 2009

     Galop added that, “The team's performance and attitude on the field also exemplified the professionalism of the organization's volunteers.” 

      “We at Y-D are elated to receive the coveted "Commissioner's Cup" award,” said Y-D Red Sox general manager, Jim Martin. “we know what we offer is special (Wholesome Family Entertainment) but, to have the League recognize our efforts is tremendous. 

     “Working with league president, Judy Walden Scarafile, was very rewarding. Together, the Y-D Red Sox, the league, and Bank of America put on a very successful Youth Baseball Clinic at Camp Lyndon. A special thanks goes to Pat Armstrong from the Town of Yarmouth Recreation Department for helping make the camp so successful.” Martin ended by stating he was proud of, “the whole team - players, coaches, sponsors, volunteers and fans. We have something to be very proud of in our organization.”

Previous Commissioner Cup Winners

2008   Hyannis Mets
2007   Wareham Gatemen
2006   Cotuit Kettleers
2005   Bourne Braves
2004   Falmouth Gatemen & Wareham Commodores


 By Bill Watson, CCBL Public Relations Department


John Garner, Jr.
Director of Public Relations & Broadcasting
(508) 790-0394
[email protected] 

BBrian Doyle
Web Editor
508) 561-6284

[email protected]

Interns: Chris Blake, James Chandley, Ashley Crosby, Phil Garceau, Michael Campbell, Katy Ann Fitzpatrick