America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


2021 Cape League Awards

08/08/2021 4:05 AM

Article By: CCBL Public Relations Office

Here are the 2021 Regular Season Award Winners:


President’s Trophy and Western Division Champions - Bourne Braves:

The Braves finished the season with a record of 24-9-3, good for a league best .708 win percentage.


Eastern Division Champions - Brewster Whitecaps:

The Whitecaps finished the season with a record of 22-11-2, winning the Eastern Division with a .653 win percentage.


Paul Galop Commissioner’s Cup - Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox

The Paul Galop Commissioner’s Cup, renamed to honor the longest tenured commissioner in league history, is presented to the team that demonstrates the highest level of integrity and professionalism, on and off the field.


Brock Wilken -SportsPix Photo - Maya Ferland Graphic


Pat Sorenti MVP Award - Brock Wilken (Harwich Mariners)

Wilken finished the season hitting .302 with a .949 OPS, along with six HRs and 26 RBIs. Wilken appeared in all 36 games for the Mariners, playing solid defense at third base and helping lead them to the playoffs.


Daniel J. Silva Sportsmanship Award - Kurtis Byrne (Brewster Whitecaps)

The Daniel J. Silva Sportsmanship Award recipient is recommended by umpires, under the direction of the Senior Deputy Commissioner. Kurtis Byrne appeared in 28 games behind the plate for Whitecaps, who led the East in team ERA.


Robert A. McNeese Outstanding Pro Prospect Award - Chase DeLauter (Orleans Firebirds)

Following a strong freshman year at James Madison, in which DeLauter hit .386 with a 1.231 OPS, he carried his success into the summer for Orleans. DeLauter finished the Cape League season tied for the league lead in home runs with nine, in addition to hitting .298 with a .986 OPS.


Mike Curran Manager of the Year Award - Harvey Shapiro (Bourne Braves)

In his 18th season as manager of the Bourne Braves, Harvey Shapiro led them to the league’s best record at 24-9-3. A member of the 2020 Cape League Hall of Fame Class, Shapiro will be inducted this November.


Robert ‘Curly’ Clement Umpire of the Year Award - Jeffrey Merzel

Jeffrey Merzel brings the highest level of professionalism, integrity, consistency, and respect for the game of baseball. This award was selected through recommendations from General Managers, Field Managers, and League Officials.


John Wylde General Manager of the Year Award - Steve Faucher (Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox)

Steve Faucher has been recognized for his passion and long-time dedication to the success of the Cape Cod Baseball League and his team, the Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox.


Clark Elliot - SportsPix Photo - Maya Ferland Graphic

Thurman Munson Award Batting Champion - Clark Elliott (Hyannis Harbor Hawks)

Elliott led the league in batting average, among qualified hitters, during the regular season with a .344 average. Elliott finished the season with seven extra-base hits, seven stolen bases, and a .942 OPS.


BFC Whitehouse Outstanding Pitcher Award - Trey Dombroski (Harwich Mariners)

Dombroski dominated all season the mound, leading the league with a 0.85 ERA and 45 strikeouts. Dombroski finished the season 3-0 with a 0.92 WHIP. He also made history finishing with the greatest K:BB ratio in league history, 45:2, for pitchers who threw over 30 innings.


Russ Ford Outstanding Relief Pitcher Award - Eric Adler (Bourne Braves)

Adler was an anchor at the back of the Bourne bullpen this season, leading the league with seven saves. Adler finished the season with a 1.14 ERA and 29 strikeouts in 15.2 innings pitched.


Manny Robello 10th Player Award - Tyler Locklear (Orleans Firebirds)

The Manny Robello 10th Player Award is given to a player that exceeds expectations on the field as a teammate and displays exemplary citizenship off the field in the community. Locklear finished tied for the league lead with nine home runs.


John J. Claffey Outstanding New England Player Award - Matthew Donlan (Cotuit Kettleers)

This is awarded to a player who lists a New England address as his home address and attends a New England school. The Guilford, Connecticut native finished with a .254 batting average and appeared in 23 games behind the plate.