America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


2022 End of Season Awards - Presented by OOFOS

08/05/2022 4:30 PM

Article By: CCBL Public Relations Office

President’s Trophy and Western Division Champions: Bourne Braves
The Braves finished the season 23-14-7, winning the President’s Trophy with a league-best 53 points. It is the second consecutive season the Braves have won the President’s Trophy.

Eastern Division Champions: Brewster Whitecaps
The Whitecaps finished the season 19-17-8, for a total of 46 points, and owned the tie-breaker over Yarmouth-Dennis. It is the second consecutive Eastern Division Championship for Brewster.

Paul Galop Commissioner’s Cup: Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox
The Paul Galop Commissioner’s Cup, renamed to honor the longest tenured commissioner in league history, is presented to the team that demonstrates the highest level of integrity and professionalism, on and off the field.

Pat Sorenti MVP Award: Matt Shaw (Bourne Braves)
Shaw finished the season hitting .360 with a 1.006 OPS, along with five home runs, 19 RBI, and 21 stolen bases. Shaw contributed exceptional defense as well at shortstop and helped lead the Bourne Braves to the best record in the league.

Thurman Munson Batting Champion Award: Matt Shaw (Bourne Braves)
Shaw led the league in batting average, among qualified hitters, with a .360 average. Shaw finished the season with 49 hits, including 17 extra-base hits.

BFC Whitehouse Outstanding Pitcher Award: Bryce Warrecker (Orleans Firebirds)
Warrecker had a strong season on the mound, finishing 4-1 with a 2.07 ERA and 35 strikeouts. Warrecker’s summer was highlighted by contributing six perfect innings in what became a combined no-hitter and starting the All-Star Game for the Eastern Division.

Russ Ford Outstanding Relief Pitcher Award: Cam Schuelke (Cotuit Kettleers)
Schuelke was an anchor for the Cotuit bullpen since arriving in mid-July. Schuelke finished with five wins and three saves in 11 relief appearances. Schuelke had a 0.80 ERA over 22.1 innings.

Daniel J. Silva Sportsmanship Award: Garrett Guillemette (Orleans Firebirds)
The Daniel J. Silva Sportsmanship Award recipient is recommended by umpires, under the direction of the Senior Deputy Commissioner. Guillemette appeared in 25 games behind the plate for the Firebirds.

Robert A. McNeese Outstanding Pro Prospect Award: Tommy Troy (Cotuit Kettleers)
Troy finished the season hitting .310 with a .917 OPS, along with five home runs and 20 RBI. Troy displayed his impressive bat speed and power during the Home Run Hitting Contest in Wareham.

Manny Robello 10th Player Award: Rikuu Nishida (Hyannis Harbor Hawks)
The Manny Robello 10th Player Award is given to a player that exceeds expectations on the field as a teammate and displays exemplary citizenship off the field in the community. Nishida led the Cape League with 28 stolen bases and appeared in 43 of Hyannis’ 44 games.

Mike Curran Manager of the Year Award: Eric Beattie (Hyannis Harbor Hawks)
As a first year manager, Beattie led the Harbor Hawks to a 22-16-6 record, the third best record across the league. Beattie had the Harbor Hawks in contention for the President’s Trophy going into the final few days of the 2022 season, one year after the Harbor Hawks finished with just seven wins.

John J. Claffey Outstanding New England Player Award: Jordy Allard (Hyannis Harbor Hawks)
Allard, a Vermont native who attends Northeastern, finished the season with a 0.49 ERA over 18.1 innings of relief. He allowed just six hits the entire season and added four wins and two saves to his resume.

Robert ‘Curly’ Clement Umpire of the Year Award: Mickey Garcia
Garcia brings the highest level of professionalism, integrity, consistency, and respect for the game of baseball. This award was selected through recommendations from General Managers, Field Managers, and League Officials.

John Wylde General Manager of the Year Award: Ned Monthie (Brewster Whitecaps)
Monthie has been recognized for his passion and long-time dedication to the success of the Cape Cod Baseball League and his team, the Brewster Whitecaps.