America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


Playoff Recap - Round 2, Game 2

08/08/2022 10:45 PM

Article By: Kayla Gregoire

Round one proved to be a nail biter, with two game threes, but in round two both series only went two games. With the teams who won both series, many CCBL fans get a look back into last year’s playoffs.

Brewster defeats Yarmouth-Dennis 9-7 (Brewster Wins Series)

When an inning goes wrong for a team, it’s hard to fight back, and that’s what happened to the Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox in game two.

The Brewster Whitecaps took the lead first in the third inning with a Carson Demartini home run, but Y-D quickly responded. A Braden Montgomery single sent Caden Connor home to make a 1-1 ball game.

The Red Sox took a short lead over the Whitecaps in the fifth inning, which started as a Cole Carrigg double that turned into a three-run inning. Montgomery ran away with another RBI after a double that sent Carrigg and Woody Haddeen home. After the inning, Y-D took a 4-2 lead against Brewster.

Drew Dowd had a solid outing for the Red Sox, pitching four innings and giving up one run with five strikeouts. When Luke Jewett came into pitch, it seemed the Whitecaps offense came to life. In 2.2 innings, Jewett gave up 10 hits and eight runs. Jewett gave up the most runs in the sixth inning, where he gave five.

After Jewett, Y-D turned to their position players to pitch for the next 2.1 innings. Montgomery replaced Jewett on the mound, only giving up one it with a strikeout. Carrigg closed out the game with two shutout innings. Carrigg had two strikeouts in the game and showing command in the zone.

The star for the Whitecaps was Demartini who hit two more home runs in the game, meaning he hit four total home runs in the series. Demartini also was walked and intentionally walked to keep a third home run or third RBI from happening.

After Brewster’s five run inning, the Red Sox could not claw their way back, losing 9-7. The Whitecaps will be playing to repeat another championship win.

Bourne defeats Hyannis 7-4 (Bourne Wins Series)

Both the Bourne Braves and Hyannis Harbor Hawks have a talented lineup from one through nine, but the Braves came up victorious in game two.

Both teams scored in the first inning of the game to make a 1-1 score, but for the next three innings it was a pitcher’s duel. That all changed in the fifth innings for the Braves.

Ty Langenberg started off the inning with issuing a walk to Tomas Frick, after that Bourne capitalized on a spark of offense. Once runners got on base, Christopher Brito hit a home run to score three runners, including Frick and Matt Shaw.

The next inning, the Braves added on two more runs to make a more comfortable lead. Hyannis attempted to claw their way back by putting up a three-run inning of their own. With Nigel Belgrave on the mound for the Braves, he issued a leadoff walk that later hurt him when Poncho Ruiz hit a single that scored the runner.

Despite the three-run inning for the Harbor Hawks, they fell to the Braves with a score of 7-4.

The Whitecaps will travel to Doran Park for the first game of the championship. First pitch will be at 6:00 p.m.