America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


All Star Game set for Eldredge Park in Orleans

07/19/2004 11:24 AM

Article By:

for immediate release: 19 July, 2004

Cape League All-Star Game Set For
Eldredge Park in Orleans July 24

Broadcast Live on PIXY 103

ORLEANS, Mass – Forty-four of the nation’s best college baseball stars will take the field Saturday at Eldredge Park in Orleans for the Cape Cod Baseball League’s 42nd annual All-Star Game.

     For the second straight year, the Cape Cod Baseball League All-Star Game is presented by the Banks of Cape Cod, including Fleet, Banknorth, Citizen’s Bank and Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank. Other supporting banks include Compass Bank, The Community Bank and Cape Cod Cooperative Bank.

     Fans will be admitted to Eldredge Park at 2 p.m. The East Division team will take batting practice from 2:30-3:15, and the West Division team will be available for autographs at that time. The teams will reverse at 3:15, with the West Division team taking batting practice and the East Division team signing autographs. Each team will then take infield, the East from 4-4:15 and the West from 4:15-4:30 p.m.

     The game will be preceded by Baseball Factory Home Run Hitting Classic at 4:30 p.m. Last season, Cesar Nicholas (Vanderbilt) of the Orleans Cardinals captured the slugging contest with a total of 22 circuit clouts, including 13 in the finals, before the CCBL’s mid-summer classic in Falmouth.

     The Nauset Honors Chorus will perform the national anthem before the game, which will begin at 6 pm.

     The game will be broadcast live on PIXY 103 and in streaming audio with Free Teamline at

     The first modern-era Cape Cod Baseball League All-Star Game took place in 1963 with a game between the best of the Cape League and the best of the Cranberry League. Cape League All-Stars took on the stars of the Atlantic Collegiate Baseball League from 1970-1987 in Cape League parks as well as at Fenway Park, Yankee Stadium, Shea Stadium and Veterans Park.

     The Cape Cod Baseball League changed to an East versus West game in 1988, and the divisional battle has been ongoing ever since. Last year, at Falmouth’s Guv Fuller Field, the East squad rallied from a 1-0 deficit to earn a 3-1 win over the West by scoring three runs in the ninth inning, highlighted by a two-run single by Sean Gamble (son of former MLB slugger Oscar Gamble) of Y-D. Sam Fuld (Hyannis) and Garrett Mock (Y-D) were named the game’s most valuable players.

     Nearly 200 former Cape League players were on Major League Baseball rosters last year, including Boston Red Sox All-Star Nomar Garciaparra and Cy Young Award winner Barry Zito. 

     The West-leading Falmouth Commodores placed seven players on the All-Star team. Co-East leading Y-D had six, while Hyannis, second in the West, also had six. The CCBL All-Stars were selected today by the league’s 10 field managers.

     Ryan Mullins (4-0 won-lost record, 1.16 ERA) of the Chatham A’s has been selected as the starting pitcher for the East, while Mike Madsen (4-0, 0.51 ERA) of the Bourne Braves is the starting hurler for the West.

     The starting lineup for the West include first baseman Bryan Harris (.316 BA, 3 HR, 16 RBI) of Cotuit, second baseman Warner Jones (.248, 0, 14) of Wareham, shortstop Cliff Pennington (.314, 1, 10, 14 stolen bases) of Falmouth, third baseman Matt Antonelli (.301, 1, 6) of Cotuit, catcher Chris Robinson (.352, 1, 5) of Hyannis, DH Geoff Strickland (.250, 0, 4, 3 tripels) of Cotuit, leftfielder Daniel Carte (.278, 7, 25) of Falmouth, centerfielder Danny Perales (.299, 2, 12) of Falmouth and right fielder Shane Robinson (.294, 1, 9) of Hyannis. 

     West reserves include catcher Nathan Emrick (.219, 0, 3) of Cotuit, infielder Chris Gutierrez (.211, 5, 16) of Wareham, outfielder Pat Reilly (.314, 2, 8) of Hyannis. Reserve pitchers include Mark McCormack (2-1, 0.93) of Wareham, Kevin Whelan (1-2, 0.75, 7 saves) of Wareham, Robert Ray (2-0, 0.00, 35 strikeouts) of Wareham, Phil Bartleski (4-1, 0.77) of Falmouth, Dallas Buck (2-1, 0.65) of Falmouth, Jensen Lewis (2-0, 1.86) of Falmouth, Mark Sauls (3-0, 1.69) of Hyannis, Joe Martinez (1-3, 1.54) and Mike Wlodarczyk (3-0, 1.78) of Hyannis.

     Starters for the East squad includes first baseman Jordan Brown (.305 BA, 1 HR, 11 RBI) of Orleans, second baseman Chris Getz (.333, 0, 3) of Chatham, shortstop Tyler Greene (.291, 1, 5) of Orleans, third baseman Jon Aughey (.299, 3, 8) of Harwich, catcher Frank Curreri (.354, 2, 11) of Y-D, designated hitter Matt LaPorta (.273, 8, 17) of Y-D, leftfielder Ryan Patterson (.326, 1, 8) of Brewster, centerfielder Adam Davis (.313, 2, 8) of Yarmouth-Dennis and rightfielder Michael Campbell (.302, 1, 7) of Brewster.

     East reserves include infielders Ryan Rohlinger (.263, 0, 7) of Yarmouth-Dennis and Will Rhymes (.253, 0, 2) of Brewster, outfielder Ben Copeland (.253, 0, 7, 11 stolen bases) of Harwich and catcher John Slone (.282, 0, 7). Joining Mullins on the mound are Justin Blaine (3-0, 1.00) of Yarmouth-Dennis, Justin Keadle (4-0, 2.87) of Y-D, Matt Goyen (4-1, 0.84) of Brewster, Ryan Falcon (1-1, 0.81, 1 save) of Brewster, Andrew Miller (2-0, 1.32) of Chatham, Kyle Bono (1-0, 0.00, 7 saves) of Chatham, Dan Brauer (4-1, 1.76) of Harwich, Craig Hansen (1-1, 0.00, 6 saves) of Harwich and Chris Nicoll (3-0, 1.67) of Orleans. (Note – statistics are thru 18 July 2004)


West Division All Stars
Pos Name  Team School
1B Bryan Harris Cotuit  LSU
2B Warner Jones Wareham Vanderbilt
SS  Cliff Pennington Falmouth Texas A&M
3B Matt Antonelli Falmouth Wake Forest
C Chris Robinson Hyannis Illinois
DH Geoff Strickland Cotuit Florida Southern
LF Daniel Carte Falmouth Winthrop
CF Danny Perales Falmouth USC
RF Shane Robinson Hyannis Florida State
P Mike Madsen Bourne Ohio State

West Division Reserve All Stars
Pos Name  Team School
IF Chris Gutierrez Wareham Oklahoma State
C Nathan Emrick Cotuit Southern Illinois
OF Pat Reilly Hyannis Arizona
P Dallas Buck Falmouth Oregon State
P Phil Bartleski Falmouth William & Mary
P Jensen Lewis Falmouth Vanderbilt
P Robert Ray Wareham Texas A&M
P Mark McCormack Wareham Baylor
P Kevin Whelan Wareham Texas A&M
P Mark Sauls  Hyannis Florida State
P Joe Martinez Hyannis Boston College
P Mike Wlodarczyk Hyannis Boston College


West Home Run Derby
Name  Team School
Mark Hamilton Falmouth Tulane
Austin Easley Bourne Florida
Mike Costanzo Hyannis Coastal Carolina

 Field Manager: Harvey Shapiro, (Bourne)
Assistant Coaches:
Jeff Trundy, (Falmouth); Mike Roberts, (Cotuit); Cooper Ferris, (Wareham); Greg King, (Hyannis)



East Division All Stars
Pos Name  Team School
1B Jordan Brown  Orleans Arizona
2B Chris Getz  Chatham Michigan
SS Tyler Greene Orleans Georgia Tech
3B Jon Aughey  Harwich The Citadel 
C Frank Curreri Y-D UMass-Amherst
DH Matt LaPorta Y-D Florida
LF Ryan Patterson Brewster LSU
CF Adam Davis Y-D Florida
RF Michael Campbell Brewster South Carolina
P Ryan Mullins Chatham Vanderbilt

st Division Reserve All Stars
Pos Name  Team School
IF Ryan Rohlinger Y-D Oklahoma
IF Will Rhymes Brewster William & Mary
OF Ben Copeland Harwich Pittsburgh
C John Slone  Harwich Miami Un.
P Justin Blaine Y-D San Diego
P Justin Keadle Y-D Wake Forest
P Andrew Miller Chatham North Carolina
P Matt Goyen Brewster Georgia College
P Dan Brauer Harwich Northwestern
P Ryan Falcon Brewster UNC-Greensboro
P Chris Nicoll Orleans UC Irvine
P Craig Hansen Harwich St. John’s
P Kyle Bono  Chatham Central Florida


East Home Run Derby
Name  Team School
Matt LaPorta Y-D Florida
Steven Head Chatham Mississippi
Tyler Greene Orleans Georgia Tech

 Field Manager: Carmen Carcone, (Orleans)
Assistant Coaches:
Steve Englert, (Harwich); Bob Macaluso, (Brewster); Scott Pickler, (Y-D); John Schiffner, (Chatham)


John Garner, Jr.
CCBL Director of
Public Relations & Broadcasting
(508) 790-0394 [email protected]