America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


Cape Cod Baseball Slate of Officers Re-Elected

11/29/2007 3:48 PM

Article By:

Judy Scarafile and Paul Galop Return as President and Commissioner

CAPE COD, Mass. – The Cape Cod Baseball League Executive Committee has announced the election of officers for 2007-08.

     Judy Walden Scarafile has been re-elected as CCBL President for the 17th consecutive years, while Jim Higgins has been re-elected as senior vice president and Phil Edwards and Peter Ford are back as vice presidents. Kim Wolfe returns as secretary and Steven Wilson begins his 23rd year as treasurer.

     Paul Galop returns for his fifth year as league commissioner, while Dick Sullivan and Sol Yas come back as deputy commissioners.

     Galop has also been elected as chair of the Cape League’s Hall of Fame Committee replacing outgoing chair Mary Henderson and Boston Red Sox and Cape League Hall of Famer Dick Bresciani, who has served for the past several years on the advisory committee, is the newest member of the CCBL Hall of Fame committee.

     Beginning its 124th season in 2008, the 10-team Cape League originated in 1885 with individual town teams, was reorganized into the Cape Cod Baseball League in 1923 with teams in Chatham, Falmouth, Hyannis and Osterville and is now the premier collegiate baseball summer league in the country. 
     A total of 198 former Cape Leaguers currently populate major league rosters, including World Series MVP Mike Lowell (Chatham ’94) and captain Jason Varitek (Hyannis ’91 & ’93) of the Boston Red Sox, AL Manager of the Year Eric Wedge (Yarmouth-Dennis ’88), AL Comeback Player of the Year Carlos Pena (Harwich ‘96/Wareham ’97) former Cy Young Award winner Barry Zito (Wareham ’97 & ’98), former AL MVP Frank Thomas (Orleans ’88), former AL batting champion Nomar Garciaparra (Orleans ’93), former NL Fireman of the Year Billy Wagner (Brewster ‘92) and newly-named New York Yankees manager Joe Giardi (Cotuit '84).
     Cape League alumni of yesteryear include Baseball Hall of Famer Harold “Pie” Traynor (Falmouth ’19), former New York Yankee greats Red Rolfe (Orleans ’30) and Thurman Munson (Chatham ’67), former Texas Rangers and New York Mets manager Bobby Valentine (Yarmouth ’67), Cy Young Award winner Mike Flanagan (Falmouth ’72), Rolaids Fireman-of-the-Year Jeff Reardon (Cotuit ’74-76), long-time major league scout Len Merullo (Barnstable ’35) and Major League Manager of the Year Nat “Buck” Showalter (Hyannis ’76).


John Garner, Jr.
Director of Public Relations & Broadcasting
(508) 790-0394
[email protected]