America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

League News

This Date in CCBL History

06/15/2002 10:51 AM

Article By:



  1980 Falmouth’s Steve Lombardozzi scores five runs, tying the league record, for the second straight game as the Commodores beat Harwich 22-11. Lombardozzi’s 10 runs in two games is a league record.
  1974 Falmouth’s Rich Gale goes the distance in a 7-2 win. Gale supplies all the offense he would need by driving in three runs on two hits, including a home run. On the mound, he struckout 10 and scattered six hits.
  1983 Frank Fazzini and Bob Larimer each hit a grand slam in Chatham’s 15-7 win over Wareham. The two combined for six hits and 12 RBI. The A’s won for the sixth time in their last ten games. Chatham is 7-19-2 after a 1-15-2 start.
  1983 Hyannis’ Bob Gibree ties the league record with three doubles against Orleans.
  2000 Carlton Fisk, who played for the 1966 Orleans Cardinals, is inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Fisk is the first player from the Cape League’s modern era (since 1963) to gain membership into baseball’s pantheon.
  1985 Bob O’Brien of Orleans no-hits Cotuit in an 8-0 win. O’Brien faced 29 batters, walking two and striking out 10. The no-hitter was preserved in fourth inning when Glenn Fernandez made a leaping catch at the fence to rob Greg Vaughn of a sure home run.
  1966 Falmouth’s Len Sheflott no-hits Sagamore in a 3-0, six inning rain-shortened win. Not to be out done Chatham’s Don Wieland no-hits Yarmouth 10-0 in a five inning game. This is believed to be the first time in league history that two no-hitters were pitched on the same day.
  1967 Orlean’s Jim Conlon and Chatham’s Joe Jabar hook up in a double one-hitter that ended in a 0-0 tie. The game was called after eight innings due to darkness. Conlon struckout 10 and allowed only an infield single to Steve Saradnik, leading off the seventh. 
  1987 Cotuit’s Dave Fitzgerald no-hits Harwich in a 6-0 win. Pitching on his mother’s birthday Fitzgerald finished with three strikeouts and four walks. 
  1997 Chatham’s Micah Holst ties the league record with three doubles against Brewster.
  1982 Cotuit’s Terry Steinbach sets Cape League single-season records for hits (72) and doubles (17) as the Kettleers split a twin-bill with Wareham.
  1965 George Greer’s two-out double in the bottom of the 10th inning gives Chatham a 3-2 win over Cotuit and the Lower Division crown. 
  1983 Scott Bankhead’s departure leaves Wareham with just 14 players, and the Gatemen claiming they cannot be competitive, pull out of the playoffs.
  1983 Cotuit’s Greg Lotzar is named MVP after leading the league in hitting (.414) and setting a new stolen base mark (33). Harwich’s Cory Snyder, who hit a league-record 22 home runs, is selected Outstanding Pro Prospect, and Wareham’s Dennis Livingston as top pitcher.
  1984 Cotuit beats Orleans, 6-2, for the seventh time in eight meetings this season, ousting the Cardinals from the double elimination playoffs. Minnesota’s Bryan Hickerson pitches 8 1/3 innings for the win.
  1963 Bourne pounds Otis 45-1 and sets records for runs, hits (31), total bases (51), RBI (37) and at bats (56). Bourne also sets the record for biggest winning margin, 44 runs, and the teams combine for a record 46 runs.
  1979 Falmouth’s Billy Best gets two hits to end the season with a 32-game hitting streak, a league record. Best hit safely in 39 of his 41 games, Harwich was the only team to hold him hitless.
  1967 Falmouth’s Ron Drews no-hits Bourne in a 6-0 win. Drews struckout seven and walked five in the seven inning contest. Not to be outdone Doug Smith of Cotuit no-hits Wareham later in the day. In the 8-1 win Smith walks one and strikes out eight. This is the second time in two seasons that two no-hitters were pitched on the same day.
  1971 Paul Mitchell tosses a two-hitter and drives in two runs with a homer and a double as Falmouth beats Cotuit, 9-1, in a semifinal playoff game.
  1989 Tom Drees (Chatham, 1984) pitches his third no-hitter of the season for Triple A Vancouver, leading the Canadian past Las Vegas, 5-0, in seven innings in the first game of a Pacific Coast League doubleheader. Drees became the first pitcher in the PCL or major leagues with three no-hitters in a year.
  1971 Bob Grossman’s three-hit, 12-strikeout performance gives Orleans a 4-1 Cape League playoff win and eliminates Wareham.
  1983 Harwich wins the fifth and deciding game of a wild CL championship playoff series by rallying for two runs in the ninth and beating Cotuit in the 11th, 10-9, on Jim Sasko’s bloop single. It was the first Harwich championship in modern (post-1963) CL history. Harwich and Cotuit combined for 67 runs and 101 hits in the five games, and the first game of the series was a 1-0 Cotuit victory.
  1972 Tim Sherrill’s bases-loaded single in the 10th puts Cotuit into the CL championship series and dethrones Falmouth, 2-1, before 900 fans at Lowell Park.
  1963 Orleans third baseman Lou Lamoriello is selected the Cape Cod Standard Times Lower Cape Baseball League Player of the Week. Lamoriello had seven hits in three games, and wins a $5 gift certificate to the Clubhouse Snack Shack at Route 28 and 134 in Dennisport.
  1973 Mike Flanagan of Falmouth and UMass is selected to the CL all-star team after compiling a 7-1 record and 2.18 ERA.
  1970 Paul Mitchell strikes out 14 and allows six hits as Falmouth sails past Cotuit 10-0 in the opening round of the CL playoffs.
  1966 Carlton Fisk made his Cape League debut memorable as he homered in his first at bat. Fisk also singled and doubled, driving in three runs and scoring twice. He played rightfield for Orleans in the 7-2 win over Yarmouth.
  1999 Now pitching for the Minnesota Twins, former Falmouth Commodore Eric Milton, no-hits the Anaheim Angels. His catcher is Cape League Hall of Fame member Terry Steinbach. Milton is the only known pitcher to throw a no-hitter in the Cape League and the majors.
  2000 The first members of the CCBL Hall of Fame are announced. The inaugural inductees are Dick Bresciani, Bill Enos, Mike Flanagan, Eddie Lyons, Lennie Merullo, Thurman Munson, Arnold Mycock, Jeff Reardon, Danny Silva, Frank Thomas, Mo Vaughn, Merrill “Red” Wilson.
  1954 The Sagamore A.A. wins the Cape League championship by defeating Orleans, 5-4, before 1,000 fans at Chatham’s Veterans Field.
  2000 Ben Sheets, former Wareham Gatemen and Orleans Cardinals pitcher, throws a complete-game, three-hit shutout for Team USA in the gold medal game at the Sydney Australia Olympics. The Americans defeated two-time defending champions Cuba 4-0.

-- Bruce Hack/CCBL Official Historian