America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

League News

Week # 9

08/18/2002 10:37 AM

Article By:

for immediate release: 18 August, 2002
Cape Cod Baseball League
Official Press Release
Week # 9  

     Kutler named Star of Stars: Wareham's Matt Kutler was named the SportsTicker Star of Stars. The award is presented to the MVP of the Playoffs. Kutler (Brown/Omaha, NE) hit .350 for the Gatemen (7-for-20), with 2 doubles, 1 triple and 9 RBI. He also sent home the game-winning run in the 9th inning of the championship game against the Orleans Cardinals.

     And congratulations to: The Wareham Gatemen, under second year manager Cooper Farris, are the 2002 Cape League Champions. The Gatemen are the first team to win back-to-back championships since the Y-D Red Sox achieved the same feat in 1989 and 1990.

     Condolences to a longtime Red Sox and Cape League scout: Our condolences to Bill Enos, who recently lost his wife of many, many years, Grace. She was a very special lady.

     Something to brag about: Kudos to webmaster Steve Wilson and website editor/PR director Sean Walsh. The CCBL site had 2.86 million hits for July - an average of nearly 100,000 hits per day. There were 1.75 million hits in June. Last year there were 1.1 million hits in June and 1.496 million in July. 

     It's not too late to get into the Cape League Hall of Fame: The Hall of Fame committee is still accepting names for the Hall of Fame Starting Lineup plaque. The plaque will be prominently displayed at Heritage Plantation. Those that are eligible can either be individuals or families. (Sorry, no corporations or organizations). The minimum donation is $100 and the deadline is August 31, 2002. The check and requested wording for the plate should be sent to CCBL Hall of Fame, Paul A. Galop, Chairman, 34 Horizon Drive, Chatham, MA 02633. Paul's phone is 508-945-4417 and his e-mail is [email protected]

    Team Awards: Each season, many of the Cape League Teams hand out their own set of awards. They are: 

·      Bourne: Pitcher of the Year - Matt Brown (Cal-Berkeley/Danville,CA); MVP - Trey Webb, (Baylor/Mansfield, TX)

·      Brewster: MVP - Jayce Tingler (Smithville, MO/Missouri); Most Valuable Pitcher - Taylor Tankersley (Vicksburg, MS/Alabama); Janice Edwards Award - Best Defensive Player - Anthony Gwynn (Poway, CA/San Diego State); Ty Brown Award - Sportsmanship/Leadership - Pat Maloney (Overland Park, KS/Kansas State); Gordon Hatfield Award - Most Stolen Bases - Tingler; Fireman Award - George Huguet (Hialeah, FL/Miami)

·      Chatham: MVP - Zane Carlson (Desoto, TX/Baylor); Coaches Award (2) - Adam Yates (Jackson, TN/Mississippi) & Ryan Johnson (Laguna Hills, CA/Wake Forest); Outstanding Pitcher - Tim Stauffer (Sarasota Springs, NY/Richmond); Outstanding Defensive Player - Colt Morton (Loxahatchee, FL/NC State)

·      Cotuit: Allan F. Crawford MVP Pete Stonard (Ladue, MO/Alabama)

·      Falmouth: John "Red" Flaherty Award (MVP) -Visili Spanos (River Forest, IL/Indiana) & Jon Kaplan (Chesterfield, MO/Tulane); Top Pitcher Award - David Aardsma (Englewood, CO/Rice); 10th Player Award (for the 2nd year in a row) - Erik Schindewolf (Spring, TX/Texas A&M); Unsung Hero Award to temporary player - Joe Kehoe, Catcher, Babson.

·      Harwich: Al Graeber Pitcher of the Year Award - Brad Ziegler Odessa, MO/Southwest Missouri State); Marty McDonough MVP - Shaun Marcum (Excelsior Springs, MO/Southwest Missouri State); George Lane Sportsmanship - Dale Johnson (Beecher, IL/Holy Cross)

·      Orleans: Charles F, Moore Sr, MVP - Ryan Hanigan (Andover, MA/Rollins); Charles F. Moore Jr. Outstanding Performance on and off the field - David Coffey (Perry, GA/Georgia); Tom Yankus Pitching Award - Brian Rogers (Marietta, GA/Georgia Southern); Castlebury Coaches Award - Rodney Allen (Culver City, CA/Arizona State) & Steve Garrabrants (Phoenix, AZ/Arizona State); Harry Hossfeld Spirit Award - Joe Weaver (Stillwater, OK/Oklahoma State).

·      Wareham: Sylvia Bigelow Award - MVP - David Murphy (Spring, TX/Baylor) and Matt Murton (McDonough, GA/Georgia Tech); Bert Bigelow award for pitching MVPs - Jeremy Sowers (Louisville, KY/Vanderbilt) and Kyle Parcus (Rosebud, TX/Texas A&M). To be announced - the Fran Tripp award for the player who makes the greatest contribution to our community, both on and off the field. 

     Baseball America announces Cape Cod League Top 30 Prospects: Jim Callis, a writer with Baseball America, has once again, based on discussions with league managers and scouts, has chosen the CCBL Top 30. For a deeper insight into the great choices, check out the paper or its website. And special thanks again to Jim and Baseball America for allowing the league to use its list to brag a little!


CCBL Top 30 Prospects

# Name Pos Team School
1 Wes Whisler 1B Y-D UCLA
2 Tim Stauffer RHP Chatham Richmond
3 Matt Murton OF Wareham Georgia Tech
4 David Aardsma RHP Falmouth Rice
5 Matt Brown RHP Bourne California
6 Ben Harrison OF Hyannis Florida
7 Chris Ray RHP Bourne  William & Mary
8 Brian Snyder 3B Cotuit Stetson
9 Pete Stonard OF/2B Cotuit Alabama
10 Jeremy Sowers LHP Wareham Vanderbilt
11 Lee Mitchell 3B Cotuit Georgia
12 Anthony Gwynn OF Brewster San Diego St
13 Rodney Allen OF Orleans Arizona St
14 Jeremy Slayden OF Falmouth Georgia Tech
15 Scott Baker RHP Orleans Oklahoma St
16 Frasier Dizard LHP Chatham Southern Cal
17 Nick Touchstone LHP Wareham Okaloosa CC
18 Robbie Van LHP Orleans Nevada-L V
19 Gary Bakker RHP Cotuit North Carolina
20 Daniel Moore LHP Chatham North Carolina
21 Jim Brauer RHP Y-D Michigan
22 David Murphy OF Wareham Baylor
23 Trey Webb SS Bourne Baylor
24 Brian Rogers RHP Orleans Georgia So
25 Trey Taylor LHP Wareham Baylor
26 Chris Snavely 2B/OF Harwich Ohio State
27 Jamie D'Antona 3B Chatham Wake Forest
28 Myron Leslie 3B Orleans South Florida
29 John Axford RHP Hyannis Notre Dame
30 David Sanders LHP Wareham Wichita State


     New Faces for 2003: Two assistant coaches will be stepping up to the plate as field managers in 2003. In Harwich, Steve Englert replaces Buddy Custer while in Brewster, Bob Macaluso steps in for Dave Barnard

     Another Kettleer fan is born: Cotuit Kettleers assistant coach Mike Coutts, who jumped back on board this season after stepping down as field manager, welcomed Maggie Lynn into the family on Saturday, Aug. 10, at 4:30 p.m. She weighed 7 lbs. 8 ounces. Congratulations to Mike, Lynn and big brother Jack.

     Now there's a Mrs. Coach too: Congratulations to Orleans' Coach Carmen Carcone, who married his fiance, Amanda, on August 17. 


Contact: Missy Alaimo, PR- Media Relations (978-975-2405)
Special thanks to Jim Callis and Baseball America