America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

League News

New Slate of Officers Elected for CCBL

11/13/2002 10:30 AM

Article By:

for immediate release: 13 November, 2002
New Slate of Officers Elected for Cape Cod Baseball League 

CAPE COD, Mass. – The Cape Cod Baseball League has announced its slate of officers for 2002-03.

    They include Judy Walden Scarafile, president; Jim Higgins, senior vice president; Phil Edwards, vice president; newly-elected Peter Ford, vice president; newly-elected Kim Wolfe, secretary; Steve Wilson, treasurer and Bob Stead, commissioner.
    Ford is a former Cape Leaguer who pitched for Boston College and the Harwich Mariners in the 1960s and is a 1964 graduate of Harwich High School. He was an outstanding all-around athlete for Harwich High and pitched the BC Eagles to the College World Series in Omaha during his junior season. He was later drafted and signed by the Baltimore Orioles and was a baseball coach at Fitchburg High School before going into private business. Ford and his wife Sara live in Osterville.
    Wolfe is currently secretary of the Hyannis Mets, secretary with Big Brothers/Big Sisters and for the past 10 years has worked for Rogers & Gray Insurance. Kim lives in Hyannis, is bookkeeper for the Cape Cod Art Association and for the past several years has housed Hyannis Mets' players.
    Ford replaces 2002 CCBL Hall of Fame inductee Dick Sullivan as vice president. A former Cape League Commissioner and President, Sullivan has stepped down as VP and will become an active Director-at-Large.
    With roots traced back to 1885, the Cape Cod Baseball League is today considered the premier collegiate summer baseball league in the country.
    Sanctioned by the NCAA, the Cape League is a non-profit organization supported by major league baseball and corporate sponsors and is operated by volunteers. Consisting of 10 individual franchises, Cape League players use wooden bats exclusively. Cape League umpires are assigned by the ECAC.
    There are 184 Cape League alumni currently performing in the major leagues, including 2002 Cy Young Award winner Barry Zito, two-time AL batting champion Nomar Garciaparra, Boston Red Sox catchers Jason Varitek and Doug Mirabelli and infielder Lou Merloni, 2002 World Series standouts Darrin Erstad, J.T. Snow, Tim Salmon, Rich Aurilia, Jeff Kent and Adam Kennedy and former MVP’s Mo Vaughn, Jeff Bagwell and Frank Thomas.

John Garner, CCBL Director of BroadcastinG