America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

League News

Cape Cod Baseball League Kicks-off Beginning of a New Era

06/09/2022 9:30 PM

Article By: CCBL Public Relations Office

Cape Cod, MA. - June 10, 2022. The Cape Cod Baseball League (CCBL) is set to begin a new era this Sunday, June 12th as the 2022 CCBL season kicks-off!

Following the challenges caused by COVID-19, teams, players and fans alike have developed a greater appreciation for summer nights at the ballpark. Last season, average attendance rose 29% compared to 2019, including over 10,000 fans on Opening Day.

With experts in the travel industry predicting a busier 2022 summer on Cape Cod, it will be a season to remember all across the league. No trip to Cape Cod is complete without taking in a Cape League game.

The Bourne Braves and Brewster Whitecaps will throw the first pitch of the 2022 Cape League season at Doran Park 6pm Sunday night, in a rematch of the 2021 Cape League Championship. Also beginning at 6pm, Falmouth will host Harwich and Wareham will host Hyannis. At 6:30pm, Orleans will host Yarmouth-Dennis. The night will conclude with Chatham hosting Cotuit at 7pm.

The 2022 Cape League season will see the return of many traditional aspects including: a full 44 game schedule, make-up games, nine-inning limits for regular season games, and an eight team postseason format beginning on August 4th. The Cape League All-Star Game will also return, for the first time since 2019, July 23rd at Spillane Field.

With five Cape League alumni projected to be drafted within the first ten picks of the 2022 MLB Draft, the league continues to be the premiere amateur summer league for college athletes.

The Cape Cod Baseball League began in 1885 and has helped numerous players achieve their dreams of making it to the major leagues throughout the 137 years. During the 2021 MLB season, a record 367 former players appeared in an MLB game. Additionally, the top selection in each of the past four MLB Drafts has been a Cape League alumni (Casey Mize, Adley Rutschman, Spencer Torkelson, and Henry Davis).

Photo: Kyle Prudhomme