America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

League News

Scarafile named as new Yawkey Trustee

06/07/2002 11:06 AM

Article By:

for immediate release: 7 June, 2002
Cape League President named 
as new Trustee to Yawkey Foundation

BOSTON, MA -- Add another feather to the cap of the Cape Cod Baseball League as President Judy Walden Scarafile was recently selected as a new trustee to the Yawkey Foundation II. Her appointment becomes effective July 1st.

     "I am quite honored to have been appointed a trustee. I will be working with very interesting and brilliant people. I look forward to the job of carrying out Mrs. Yawkey's charitable wishes and helping organizations in need," said Scarafile.

     Scarafile has been involved with the Cape League for 33 years, beginning with a 17-year stint as an official scorer. She has been president of the CCBL for 11 years and was appointed Director of Corporate Development last year.

     Off the field, she is a registered pharmacist at the Rehabilitation Hospital of the Cape and Islands. 

     Jean R. Yawkey's Foundation (Foundation II) was established in 1982. Together with Tom Yawkey's Foundation, the Yawkey Foundation I, founded 1976, the two Foundations have contributed more than $40 million to organizations both large and small, which share the Yawkeys' charitable ideals and objectives. 

     The Yawkey II Foundation has been a strong supporter of the Cape Cod Baseball League for 8 years. 

     Joining Scarafile for a five-year term are: Eleanor S. Armstrong, conservationist and lifetime friend of Tom and Jean Yawkey; Ronald E. Burton, All-American and College Hall of Fame football player and long-time Executive Consultant in the Community Relations Department of John Hancock Financial Services; Charles I. Clough, Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Clough Capital Partners, L.P., and former Chief Investment Strategist for Merrill Lynch & Company, Inc.; the Reverend Dr. Ray Hammond, founding Pastor of Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Boston and nominated Chairman of the Board of the Boston Foundation; and J. Donald Monan, SJ., Chancellor and former President of Boston College

     The Foundation's current Trustees, three of whom were appointed by Mrs. Yawkey, are John Harrington, William Gutfarb, Edward Kenney and James Maguire.

     For more information on the Yawkey Foundation, and its newest trustees, check out the website at

Contact: Missy Alaimo, CCBL Publicist, 978-975-2405