America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


Cape League All-Star, Home Run selections released

07/18/2015 11:31 AM

Article By:

     Selections for the 2015 Friendly’s Cape Cod Baseball League All-Star game and Home Run Hitting Contest were announced Saturday morning at Dennis-Yarmouth Regional High School.

     The annual midsummer classic is slated for next Saturday, July 25, at Clem Spillane Field. The league’s 10 managers were responsible for choosing representatives for both the East and West.

     Starting for the East will be Brewster catcher Cassidy Brown (LMU), third baseman Nick Senzel (Tennessee) and left fielder Colin Lyman (Louisville). Senzel leads the league in RBIs with 18 and is also second in batting average.

     Designated hitter Gio Brusa (Pacific) will be making his second All-Star appearance, along with Y-D teammates and first-time All-Stars, center fielder Cole Billingsley (South Alabama), second baseman Tommy Edman (Stanford) and shortstop Donnie Walton (Oklahoma State).

     Representing the league-leading Orleans Firebirds are first baseman Ronnie Dawson (Ohio State), right fielder Kyle Lewis (Mercer) and starting pitcher Mitchell Jordan (Stetson), who leads the Cape League in wins, strikeouts and ERA. Field manager for the East All-Stars will be Steve Englert of Harwich.

     The West team features second baseman Nick Solak (Louisville), and left fielder Jacob Robson (Mississippi State) of the Bourne Braves, as well as Falmouth Commodores first baseman JJ Matijevic (Arizona) and right fielder Heath Quinn (Samford).

     Designated hitter Jacob Noll (Florida Gulf Coast) and third baseman Blake Tiberi (Louisville) will represent Hyannis while Nick Cieri (Maryland) of Wareham will serve as catcher for teammate and starting pitcher Blake Fox (Rice). Andrew Calica (Cal-Santa Barbara) is the third Gatemen player on the West roster and will patrol center field. Shortstop Michael Paez (Coastal Carolina) is the lone representative from the Cotuit Kettleers and rounds out the selections for the West team. Harvey Shapiro of Bourne is the field manager.

     Participating in the Home Run Hitting Contest for the East will be Nick Senzel of Brewster, Willie Abreu (Miami) of the Firebirds and Will Craig (Wake Forest) of Chatham. Wareham’s Logan Sowers (Indiana), Cotuit’s Will Haynie (Alabama) and Bourne’s Peter Alonso (Florida) will represent the West.