America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


Baseball America’s Pre-Season All-America Team Dominated by CCBL

02/11/2007 12:52 PM

Article By:

for immediate release: 11 February, 2007

Baseball America’s Pre-Season All-America Team
Dominated by Cape League Players

CAPE COD, Mass. -- Following an impressive 2006 summer, the Cape Cod Baseball League has been recognized by its strong representation in the annual preseason All-America Team posted by Baseball America. The entire 28-man roster consists of former, current, and invited Cape League players.

     The First Team All-America squad includes top players in the country who participated in the Cape League last season. Included in the infield are two of Brewster’s roster players in second baseman Jemille Weeks (Miami) and third baseman Pedro Alvarez (Vanderbilt). 

     The CCBL home-run leader of the ’06 season was first baseman and CCBL MVP Justin Smoak (South Carolina), who played for the Cotuit Kettleers. Rounding out the infield is catcher Matt Weiters (Georgia Tech), who played for the Orleans Cardinals, and shortstop Zach Cozart-(Mississippi), who played for Bourne infield in ’06.

     First Team outfielders include Cotuit’s Julio Borbon (Tennessee) and Kelen Kulbacki (James Madison). Playing for Team USA in ’06, Borbon participated in the Cape League in ’05. Brad Chalk (Clemson) played for the Falmouth Commodores, while Joe Savery (Rice) was on the roster for Wareham the past two seasons, but did not play for the Gatemen due to Team USA participation in ’05 and minor shoulder surgery in ’06.

     Pitchers included on the First Team All-American list are right-handers: Jake Arrita (Texas Christian) Andrew Brackman (North Carolina St.), Josh Fields (Georgia) of Yarmouth-Dennis, David Price (Vanderbilt) and Wes Roemer (Cal State Fullerton), who played for the Brewster Whitecaps. Arrita, Brackman, and Price were all chosen for Team USA, but were on Cape League Rosters in 2006. 

     Included on the All-America Second Team infield were: catcher JP Arenchibia (Tennessee) of Cotuit, first baseman Matt Laporta (Florida) of Brewster , second baseman Calob Harbin (Clemson) of Falmouth, third baseman and CCBL batting champion Matt Mangini (Oklahoma State) of Hyannis, and shortstop Josh Horton (North Carolina) of Harwich .

     The Second Team outfield consisted of Corey Brown (Oklahoma State) of Chatham, Jordan Danks (Texas), who appeared on the Hyannis roster, Warren McFadden (Tulane) of Falmouth, and utility player Sean Doolittle (Virginia) of the Harwich Mariners.

     Left-hander Brett Cecille (Maryland) of Orleans was selected to the Second Team, in addition to left-handers Ross Detwiller (Missouri State) of Falmouth (’05) and Daniel Moskos (Clemson) and Nick Schmidt (Arkansas), who all played for Team USA last summer but were on CCBL preseason rosters. Rounding out the Second Team All-America list is right-hander Eddie Kunz (Oregon State) of Falmouth.

     Now entering its 122nd year, the Cape League originated in 1885 with individual town teams, was reorganized into the Cape Cod Baseball League in 1923 with teams in Chatham, Falmouth, Hyannis and Osterville and is now the premier collegiate baseball summer league in the country.

John Garner, Jr.
Director of Public Relations & Broadcasting
(508) 790-0394
[email protected] 

Daniel Scalia
Web Editor
(508) 944-6782
[email protected]